Wesley Photo Gallery http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century Fri, 15 Mar 2019 18:34:22 +0000 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb 1907 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22933-1907 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22933-1907
More on Fostoria (1907)
From R/t July 11, 2001
(Article by Gene Kinn)
Fostoria's second family, loses Rawson Crocker
    As feared from the moment it was realized that he was suffering from a stroke of apoplexy, Mr. Rawson Crocker did not regain consciousness, passing away last evening (Dec. 30, 1907.) While this was a disappointment to his loved ones, their sorrow is assuaged somewhat by the realization that he did not suffer
    In his death, the family loses a loving and indulgent husband and father and Fostoria loses one who has not only seen but has helped the town grow from an insignificant hamlet to a prosperous city.
    Mr. Crocker was born in fostoria August 30th, 1841, his father, Roswell, having come here in 1832 and entered a track of government land.  The village of Rome was located on a part of this land and Mr. Crocker Sr. made the first plat of the town.  he built the first sawmill and in 1837, built a gristmill.
    When Mr. Rawson was five years old , his father moved to a farm ten miles south of the city, building a sawmill and gristmill at Springville, which he conducted for a number years, returning to Fostoria in 1852 and building a gristmill on South Main Street, where the Crouse block now stands. He operated that business until his retirement in 1865.
    Mr. Crocker attended the public schools of this city, the Ohio Wesleyan University at Delaware and was a graduate of Eastman's Business College at Poughkeepsie, New York. At the age of 16 he entered the employ of the firm of Foster, Olmsted & Company and became a member of the firm ten years later.  He remained with this company as a partner for six years when he sold out.
    He embarked in the grocery business in 1875, in the room for a number of years past occupied by the James Crawford Co., doing a large real estate business in connection therewith.  He retired from the grocery business in the early nineties since which time he had looked after his large interest here and elsewhere.
    The deceased was a strong Republican but was not an office seeker, his office holding having been limited to a term as councilman and membership on the board of sinking fund trustees.  He had taken a strong interest in the upbuilding of Fostoria since young manhood and was always to be found on committees appointed to solicit for subscriptions to locate new factories, and he always subscribed liberally before soliciting others to do so.
    He took an active interest in securing the various Crouse-Tremaine interest for Fostoria and was interested in those factories for a number of years and with these gentleman in other enterprises, being probably closer to them in the business way than any Fostorians not connected with them as employees.  He was a stockholder in both the Mechanics and Commercial Banks and was director of the first named.  He has been president of the Seneca Wire  & Manufacturing company since the organization of the company, and was one of several men to whom the success of that institution has largely been due.  He was a man of marked business acumen and this was recognized by making him a director or officer in many companies and also of the board of trade. 
    Mr. Crocker was married in 1867 to Miss Lucy Caples, daughter of the late Philip Caples and wife , who came to Jackson Township the same year Mr. Crocker's parents came to Loudon Township.  Mr. Crocker and four sons, John R., Charles P., Ross E. and Fred , survive him, all but Ross, who lives in Clarksburg, W. Va. being Fostorians.
    He was a member of the Odd Fellows and of all the local Masonic bodies, being a charter member of Fostoria Council and Fostoria Commandery.
    (Rawson Crocker was a nephew of Charles W. Foster, founder of the city, Foster married Laura Crocker, the daughter of John and Lucy Crocker, on June 7, 1827, John was the father of Roswwell Crocker and grandfather of Rawson.  Crocker Street is named for the second family of Fostoria)

From R/t July 3, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Mr. Andrew Emerine Sr. (Local Banker and More)
    One of Fostoria's oldest and foremost business men, Andrew Emerine Sr., is founder and president of the First National Bank.
    The bank was organized June 17, 1882, chartered December 2nd of the same year and opened for business on Jan. 2nd 1883 in the Lockart room, now occupied by the Fostoria Candy Works.
    The original officers were Andrew Emerine, President: L.B. Harris, Vice President; J.C. F. Hull, cashier, and Alonzo Emerine, assistant cashier. So it will be seen that for a full quarter of a century, Mr. Emerine has not only found time to look after other extensive interest, but has successfully directed the important affairs of this, Fostoria's oldest, most conservative and only National Bank.
    While he now has to a large extent relieved himself of the strenuous activities which his large interests involve, his principles are being strictly adhered to by his sons, Alonzo and Andrew, vice president and assistant cashier, as well as by Andrew E. Mergenthaler, who has been with the institution practically from its inception.
    Born of German parentage about the time western Seneca County was settled, the elder Mr. Emerine saw that remarkably fertile area of this day when it was a primeval forest except for occasional cleared patches sheltering a sparse but hardy lot of pioneers.  The forest at that time were peopled with bear, wolves, deer and wild turkeys as well as all kinds of similar game and Indians.
    When a mere youth he endured hardships in the way of going to mill with a sack of corn or wheat over his shoulder, that would test the endurance of an adult man at this time.   When he had grown to a ambitious youth, he learned the saddlery trade (equipment for horses) and worked for his employer until he mastered every detail of the business, when he embarked in the trade for himself.
    He conducted his business successfully until when his financial interests became so large he had to retire in order to take advantage of the opportunities that came his way to make money.
    Let it be said here that as far as we have been able to learn, Mr. Emerine never did any gambling in stocks, nor speculated in any but a legitimate way.  Naturally he took chances on certain of his investments but he never bought or sold on margins.
    For the most part, his investments were in real estate that invariable increased in value and made him sate, (fully gratify desire) if not moderate profits.  He did not squeal when bitten by adversity nor specially rejoice when successful, except as the success was beneficial to the community

From R/t June 6, 2002
From Article by Gene Kinn
Fostoria Movie Houses
     Ural Buck was born on a farm about nine miles northeast of Fostoria, Art came to the city when he was 8 years old.  During the early days of the "flickers," he broke into the business as an operator in the Findlay movie house in 1908.   He worked in Findlay in the evenings and drove a bread wagon in Fostoria in the daytime, until 1910 when he and W.T. Huber formed a partnership to operate the Majestic Theater in Fostoria.
     Mr. Huber later sold his half interest to Harry Campbell, the druggist and the latter sold his interest to Judd Asire, the undertaker.   In 1915, Mr. Asire sold his half interest to Ural Buck and Charles Mergenthaler. later that year.  Arthur sold half of his interest to his brother-in-law, Melvin Hawkins.  Back in those days Fostoria had six "nickel" shows, movies that charged five cents for a 15 minute, one reel program.
     In 1916, when they lost their lease on the Majestic, Mr. Buck and his associates moved across the street, to what is now the present location of the State Theater, and built a 300 seat movie house, called the "Colonial".  Three years later, just after World War I, they enlarged the theater into it's present 700-seat capacity, and some time later changed the name to the State.  Art, who booked in all the shows at the Colonial, built up a reputation for exhibiting the top movies a week to two weeks ahead of the release in the larger cities.
     Mr. Buck booked in Sonja Henie first movie, "One in a Million", he told the agency he wanted it for New Year's Eve, even though it wasn't scheduled to be released until later in January.  The booking agency manager just laughed, but Art insisted on action.   After phone calls to New York and Hollywood, a print of the film was rushed to Fostoria, directly from Hollywood, for the first showing in the nation.  Because of the patronage the show drew in Fostoria, the producer decided to give it the "full treatment" in national advertising and promotion and the film became one of the all time big money makers.
     Arthur Buck died in 1963 at the age of 79.  At one time he owned a large share of both the State and Civic theaters.  He was in the movie business in Fostoria for more than 47 years.  Prior to his death Mr. Buck gave an interview to the Review Times.  He said, "When we raised the admission price of the movies from a nickel to a dime, you would have thought there was a smallpox quarantine nailed on the front door of the theater."
(Note)  In early 2000 the State theater was demolished and a new building will be constructed to house a Local "Good News" paper, the Fostoria Focus.  The old Civic theater building is still standing and at one time was used as a youth center,  presently used as a sharing kitchen to prepare meals for area residents..

R/t May 23, 2002
From Article by Gene Kinn
Cory St. Early Beginnings (1907)
Lawrence Kehn has purchased the new cottage just about completed by Howard Cory, in the Cory addition, paying $1200 therefor
There are three houses now building on Cory Street, two by Mr. Cory and one by Mr. Klotz.  Cory addition is bound to be come a popular residence district from the fact that a man is given opportunity to have a house built to suit his pocketbook with such plans of purchase as to make the properties attractive.
Unwanted Horse Found in Barn (1907)
When Mr. Daub went to his barn yesterday morning, he found a horse which did not belong to him.  After looking the animal over he decided that he did not want him, even as a present
After investigating a little, he found that Lloyd Hollopeter had given the horse to Frank Carter, but the recipient, after getting better acquainted with the animal , decided that he did not care to accept it and had returned it, thinking that Daub's barn was Mr. Hollopeter's barn.
Raising Horses More Costly (1907)
Talking about the increase in the price of horses, in the past ten years, a well known area horse dealer stated recently that his first carload of horses shipped from the city of Tiffin cost him about $1400.  Now, the same size shipment cost him in the neighborhood of $6000
Yet ten years ago, many people thought that the coming of the automobile would make the horse a back number.
Fostoria to Build Engine
The Fostoria Auto Machine Co. closed a deal yesterday with Mr. G. Fish of Hicksville, Ohio for a twenty horsepower international traction gas engine to be shipped to Kimball, Nebraska, to be used on Mr. Fish's ranch , to pull a gang plow and threshing outfit.
 Fostoria Looking to Build Hospital (1907)
Drs. E. L. Overholt and William Leonard returned at noon from a tour of hospitals at Lima, Piqua, Troy, Springfield, Columbus and Findlay.
They will make their report at the meeting of local physicians next week and they state that there is no reason why a hospital in Fostoria would not be a success.

From R/t April 16, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Record Real Estate Sales for Fostoria (1907)
    In spite of the April cold rainy weather, 81 lots amounting in value to over $11,000 were sold at the Avondale opening in less than 24 hours.  This breaks all real estate records in Fostoria.
    There are now only 37 of these fine lots to offer, and these will not last long at these terms and prices.  You can secure a choice residence lot for only $1 down and only 50 cents to $1 a week with a free deed to your beneficiary in case of your death before your lot is fully paid for , even if you have made only one payment.
    There is not interest, not taxes and not extras of any kind.  We offer these beautiful lots at only $98 to $198, although lots within a short distance sell for twice these prices.
    A liberal credit of 10 percent is allowed on advance payments of $10 or more and a discount of 20 percent is allowed for all cash down.
    Avondale is located on Columbus Avenue and Town Street, only five squares from the business center. The electric line passes the property, giving it regular street car service.  There is no better or healthier location for homes in Fostoria than Avondale. 
    The owners intend Avondale to be strictly a residence property and no shacks, shanties, saloons or other objectionable features will be allowed.
    All houses in Avondale must be built 20 feet back of the sidewalk line, thus giving a park-like appearance to the property.  Lots are sold to white persons only.
    Avondale property is offered by C.N. Lodge & Co., America's greatest home makers.  Our office is located over Peter Bros.' store, corner Main and Tiffin Streets.
Heifer, Dislikes Her Last Trip
    A heifer, being brought to town to be butchered at W.L. Warner's slaughter house, from Peter Manecke's farm southwest of the city, went wild while on the way and caused considerable excitement and some danger.
    When it started out, the animal was tied to another, but broke away and would make a bolt for anyone who came in sight, while the wagon followed behind, the drivers doing their best to drive her the way they wished her to go.  Several people were chased and had the animal not slipped and gone to its knees while chasing Dr. Westfall, he would have been caught.
    J.D. Asire took five shots at it with a .38, but the bullets only served to enrage her the more.  Judd stood long enough to frighten all who saw his gunplay, but he sidestepped and allowed her to pass.
    Officer Walters has been summoned and went with the idea that he could lead the animal to the jail without any trouble.  When he saw the conditions, he sprinted to the jail, secured the official rifle and that ended the trouble.  The animal was bled at once and placed in the wagon and hauled away
    There was no apparent reason for her losing her head, but she was about as dangerous, if not more so, than an ordinary circus lion by the time she reached town.
Pigeons Raised in Fostoria for Market
    After an experience of a couple of years in the pigeon business, Frank Bunce found his quarters to limited to handle the business as extensively as he wished and he entered into a partnership with A.P. Hamill.
    The new firm purchased three acres opposite the power house, at the junction of Findlay and West Independence roads, where the Washington Township house stands. the building will be removed and a residence will be put up, after which pens will be built and those now in use on the Bunce lot will be moved to this location. The firm now has about 700 pairs of birds, but when the work contemplated has been done, they will have sufficient accommodations for 12,000.
    The raising of pigeons for market is a comparatively new business for this section of the country, but it seems to be growing one wherever it has been started,  Mr. Bunce imported most of his birds from Europe.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:42:09 +0000
1924 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22932-1924 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22932-1924

From the Review (December 1924)

10,000 Visitors at Exposition

Saturday; 28,961 Attend the Big farm Show During first Four Days: Special Features Arranged for this Week

       Saturday was the banner day so far of the National Farm and Industrial Exposition with Sunday running a close second in point of attendance. During the twelve and a half hours the big show was operation Saturday , 10,279 persons passed into the big building on the southwest cornor of  Popular and South Streets,  the Willis Hakes Garage the largest building in the area. The crowds were constantly changing with hundreds going in as others passed out. Sunday the attendance was 9,988, a total of 28,961 for the first four days and five days yet to go. Mr. Buolow stated this morning that he expects the total to reach 75,000 to 80,000 by next Friday night when the exposition closes.

        Hundreds of strangers were in the city, Saturday and Sunday, coming here from great distances to attend the exposition. A concert by Ernie Smith's orchestra afternoon and evening were the entertaininng features Sunday.

New Singer

        A new soloist and entertainer made her appearance at the big show this afternoon and will remain for the balance of the exposition.   She is Miss Alma Alexandeer Blue who has appeared with many high class theatrical productions and is prominant in vaudeville.

        Tuesday afternoon the students from Jackson Township Centrallzed school at Amsden and the students from the Milton Township Centrallized school of  Milton Center will attend the exposition. The Jackson township scholars will be accompanied by E. G. Hasley, instructor in agriculture at the school and the Milton Center students will be in charge of  Superintendent  J. C. Cooley.

        The big features Tuesday evening in addition to the various other entertainments will be the appearance of the "Ice-House Quartette," composed of Toledo business men.

(December 12, 1924) From the Review.

Want Beulow Back in 1925

Farm Exposition Executive Committee Urge Him to Stage His big Show in this City Again Next Year

        Unanimous was the infitation from the executive comittee of the Fostoria Merchant's division to H. V. Beulow to put on a farm Expo in Fostoria again next year. Mr. Beulow will give the committee an answer within a month. Up to today 60,071 have attended the Expo.

        This action was taken at the meeting this morning in the office of Willis Hakes Garage. Every member present expressed himself as highly pleased with the show and the results thereof and strongly urged Mr. Beulow to return next year.

        Other Cities had representatives here during the show urging and affering inducements to Mr. Beulow to come to their respective cities.

        The action of the local committee this morning came wholely unsolicted on the part of Mr. Beulow, the committee feeling that thousads of strangers had been attracted to Fostoria during the dates of the Expo. and much good had come both directly and indirectly to the merchants and the town in general.

        The committee also praised Mr. Beulow for his wonderful executive abillty in handling affairs of this kind and his absolute fairness in all matters.

Miss Rega Gabriel Wins Miss Fostoria Contest With 10,754

        The "Miss Fostoria Popularity Contest" which was being held in connection with the 11th Annual National and Industrial Exposition, closed last night. the final count was delayed until 11 p.m. owing to the time it took to make the 9:30 count, for that reason Mr. Turley, Contest Mgr. extended the closing time until 11 p.m. The final count follows;

Miss Rega Gabriel---------------------10,754
Miss Lela Kisabeth---------------------6192
Mrs. Thelma Book----------------------5701
Miss Helen Yates of
Jackson Grange-------------------------2596
Miss Mildred Hurbert of
Loudon Grange---------------------------2210
Mrs Fairie Kassing of
Milton Grange----------------------------1534
Miss Helen DeWitt of

 Salem Grange---------------------------1510

The Fostoria Seneca Motorcar company

The Fostoria Seneca Motorcar company (organized in 1917) produced three to five automobiles per day and 80% of their production was exported to places such as Australia, Borneo and China. Seneca Motorcar prospered until Henry Ford developed the assembly line. Seneca couldn’t compete with mass production techniques and manufactured its last car in 1924.

ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:39:52 +0000
1919 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22931-1919 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22931-1919
More on Fostoria 1919 
East Tiffin Street Hotel Sold
Information from R/t July 5, 2002
    Richard Abowd, a native of Lebanon, purchased the Earl House Hotel in 1919.  Abowd came to United States in 1876 at the age of five.  He moved to Fostoria in 1906 to help operate a candy shop his father had purchased at Main and Center Streets (Now a parking lot 2002)
    The Hotel was built circa 1880 as the Earl House Hotel, part of a national chain.  It is listed in the 1889 city directory but not in the 1877 directory,  Directories from 1888 to 1889 are not available at Kaubisch Public Library.
    In 1893, the hotel was purchased by Frank Engstrom and M. B. Waldo and was completely refurbished.  It was not known how long they operated the facility, but by 1915 it was listed as the Hays Annex, an adjunct to the Haya Hotel on South Main Street.  (Hays Hotel was destroyed by fire in 1962)
Read Leonard Skonecki Article
    After purchasing the Hotel, Mr. Abowd renamed it the New Ohio Hotel, renting it to another person who operated it for 10 or more years.  During the depression the operator could not pay the rent and Abowd took over, borrowing heavily on a life insurance policy to renovate the structure,  when it reopened in 1934, the hotel had an elegant dining room, the Cardinal Room, where patrons could enjoy a seven-course dinner and a five-piece orchestra for $1.  The dinning room closed in the mid-1940's 
    Abowd sold the hotel in 1973 to three Fremont men associated with Joseph's Department Store there.  C. Robert Gilberg, Ronald Cataline and Harold Danziger.  They hired Mr. and Mrs. Paul Janak of Fostoria to operate it.  Richard Puchta stayed on as night manager, a position he had held since 1934.
    Lloyd Doe, a Fostoria police patrolman, and his wife Joyce purchased the facility in 1978 and renamed it the Doeshire.  Mr. Doe retired from the police force in 1981 and in 1992, he opened a tavern, the Doeshire Inn, in the former Cardinal Room. The tavern was closed several years ago. 
Update 2002;
On July 4, 2002 a fire-ravaged the Doeshire then an 3 story apartment complex, killing a young girl and a adult male.  The fire also destroyed the Old Kelly's Hot Dog Stand, operated for many years by the late Floyd Kelly and later by a series of individuals under various names.
What remains of the building will face the wrecker's ball according to Mr. Doe who stated he would not rebuild.

From R/t May 26, 2001
Gene Kinn (Article)
Local American Legion Organized
    In October of 1919, a group of men,  who had served together during World War 1, met to lay the foundation for the organization of an American Legion Post in Fostoria.   Major George Cunningham was elected temporary chairman.  Signing the application for the charter were;  R. R. Kelly,  Joe Schinitzler, W. F Ohler,  I.  L. Briggs, L. Fuller,  Dr. William Leonard,  Dr. C. A. Henry,  Dr. N. C. Hatfield,  L. J. Schreiner,  C. H. Weber and Cunningham
    The post was named in honor of Earl Foust, the first Fostorian to give his life in WW 1.  He died of wounds received on Aug. 8, 1918.  He is buried in Fountain Cemetery.  The number 73 was assigned to the Post by Department Headquarters.
    The first meeting place Post 73 was the Rosendale Building.  Later meeting were held in the Y.M.C.A,  Foster Home, Elks club, and rooms on West North Street.  In 1932 the Kingseed property on West Tiffin St. was purchased.  In 1950, the post moved to the former Harrold funeral Home,  In 1995 the Post moved once again to their beautiful new facility on Zeller Road.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:39:32 +0000
1916 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22930-1916 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22930-1916
More on Fostoria   for (1916)
From R/t April 6, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
 A Golf Course for Fostoria
    Fostoria Country Club was born in 1916 with 161 members.  Immediate steps are to be taken by the trustees to push the work along so that the club house and course can be enjoyed this year.  Trustees of the FCC are'  W.C. Beckwith, W. O. Allen, A. Emerine Jr., F.M. Hopkins, George A. Snyder, A. Mergenthaler, H. J. Adams, H. H. Geary and Nelson Poe.
    W.O. Allen was elected president at a meeting of the directors, held at the First National Bank.  H. J. Adams was named vice president, Chas.. A. Guernsey; secretary and L.J. Eshelman, treasurer and general manager.
    A Committee consisting of George A. Snyder, F.M. Hopkins and A Mergenthaler was appointed to secure the grounds.  The proposed site includes the old chautauqua grounds and 40 acres on the West Independence Road.
    The membership of the club was divided into five classes--Life, with a payment of $500; Resident, Fostorians and those living within 15 miles of the city (later this was reduced to 12 miles); Non-Resident, those living outside of the 15 miles; Associate, those not included in the first three and Honorary, those receiving the unanimous vote of the board.
    O.J. Thomas, an expert golfer, outlined the possibilities of a course and golf club that could be made equal to any nine hole course in the country.  He declared that he never knew of a golfer to stop playing the game on account of lack of interest, nor ever heard of a golf club breaking up.
    Resident membership dues will be $25 a year while associates of the stockholders' family, up to age 18, will pay $12 and non residents will be charged $10
    The new Fostoria Country Club will take in the 40 acres owned by Charles and Anna Moots, across the street from the old chautauqua grounds. Long time options were secured on adjoining property including the Freese land at the corner of Findlay Road and West Independence Road.
Follow up Story (More on Fostoria 1917)
More on Fostoria (1917
From R/t April 6, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
At the Fostoria Country Club
    Today July 4, 1917 The Review noted: The basket picnic on the Fostoria Country Club grounds it was an informal affair.  While the grounds and building are not yet completed, the house committee arranged the outing in order to give the members an opportunity of seeing just what had been done and also a little taste of what they may expect when the grounds and building are completed. 
    As early as 8 o'clock, members were out on the links and the course was kept busy the entire day,  and many a member were on the greens for the first time and swung the clubs and called fore just as if they had been playing a lifetime.
    The Fostoria Review Band (composed almost entirely of glass workers) arrived at noon and played a number of mighty fine selections.
    After dinner, many members got busy again on the links while some went onto the tennis courts, others at croquet and horseshoes.  W.C. Beckwith and W. J. Wagner contented themselves with sitting on the edge of the brook, waiting for some of the finney tribe to come out and visit.
Related Story (More on Fostoria 1916)

Subject: Hearse 1914 Allen Car converted

Mann's Motorized Hearse
         Read more from the Fostoria Focus Archives April 26, 2000, (By Leonard Skonecki)
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:38:09 +0000
1911 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22929-1911 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22929-1911

More on Fostoria 1911

From R/t April 22, 2004
Article by Gene Kinn

Fostoria Shows Growth in 1911

Senator Charles Dick wires as follows, from Washington (on Jan. 13, 1911) "Official announcement just made gives Fostoria a population of 9,597, Fremont 9,939, Tiffin, 11,894 and Findlay, 14,858."
Fostoria's population, shown by the twelfth census, was 7, 730 making the increase 1,897, which is certainly a growth of which we need not feel ashamed. In the eleventh census, it was 7,070.
Compared with the other cities, Findlay is showing a loss and Tiffin and Fremont gains of 716 and 727 respectively. We have reason to feel very proud. Present indications are that we will have passed 15,000 before the decade is half gone, so we will hope for the future instead of worrying over the past.

(Now more than 90 years later (2004), the city population is estimated at less than 15,000.)

History of the 'Soldiers' Civil War Monument'
From Fostoria Focus Aug.3, 2001
Article by Leonard Skonecki
Monument dedication  A crowd gathered for the unveiling of the
"Soldiers' Monument" in Fostoria's Fountain Cemetery in
the spring of 1911.  the monument was donated by Rachel Linhart
to honor Union Civil War veterans on behalf of her husband
John Linhart
    Linhart was born Oct. 26, 1841 in Allegheny, Pa.   In 1854 the Linhart family moved to Parkersburg, Va. (West Virginia did not become a state until 1863)  During the Civil War, 40 western Virginia counties refused to secede from the Union with Virginia and formed their own government.)
    When the Civil War began, Linhart enlisted in the Union Army, Co. H of the 7th West Virginia Infantry Regiment.
    The 7th West Virginia was made up mostly of farmers and was known as the "Bloody 7th".  They fought in more engagements and suffered more losses than any other West Virginia regiment.  After the practice of the time, they were organized by James Evan, a Morgantown politician.
    The 7th West Virginia fought in the 2nd Corps of the Army of the Potomac in the Battle of Antietam. (Maryland) in September 1862.  The 2nd Corps was given the daunting task of driving entrenched Confederates from heavily fortified positions along Sunken Road.
    The 7th commenced its attack at 10 o'clock in the morning.  By nightfall , over 5,000 casualties littered the battlefield and Sunken Road was now known as "Bloody Lane."
    Though Linhart lived to tell about it, he did not fare well.  Co. H followed Lt. Francis Hicks into combat.  A bullet grazed Linhart's scalp.  He bore the scar of that wound for the rest of his life.
    Another Rebel round tore into his cartridge belt and ripped it from his body.   A third bullet pieced his left arm above the wrist and exited the other side.
    In terrible pain and fighting to maintain consciousness, Linhart struggled to the rear.  As he did so, he walked backward, facing the enemy each step of the way so that none would think him a coward.
    Linhart was one of the 23,000 killed or wounded at Antietam, one of the bloodiest battles of the Civil War.
    Severe as Linhart's wounds were, there were so many others more seriously injured that he wasn't treated for 10 days.  By then, doctors had no choice but to amputate his arm below the elbow to prevent infection from killing him.
    Through Antietam was not a clear-cut Union victory, it blunted Robert E. Lee's invasion of the North and gave President Lincoln the opportunity he was seeking to issue the Emancipation Proclamation, the executive order abolishing slavery in the states of the Confederacy.
    Linhart was discharged from the Army on Feb. 15 1863, after 20 months of service.  In 1865 he and other members of his family moved to northwest Ohio to work a farm in Hancock county.   Linhart moved to Fostoria to work in the grocery store of Isaac N. Mickey.
    In 1873, he married Rachel Rankin.  They had one child, Lena, who died before her 20th birthday.  Neither John nor Rachel, members of the Methodist Episcopal Church were the same after Lena's death.
    Linhart joined Fostoria's Norris Post 27 of the Grand Army of the Republic on April 19, 1881.
    Linhart later worked in Rawson Crocker's grocery store at 123 S. Main St. and remained employed there for many years.
    He died in July 1907 at the age of 66 after three days in a diabetic coma.  He had been confined to his house for nearly the last year of his life.
    In October 1910, at a meeting of the Norris Post, Martin Adams announced that Rachel Linhart had donated $2,000  for the construction of a monument at Fountain Cemetery for the Post on behalf of her late husband.
    The monument is made of white granite with a base nine feet square.  It stands 21 feet, 4 inches high and the soldier at the top is 6 feet, 6 inches tall.
    Rachel asked only that the Post conduct an appropriate dedication of the monument and see to its care.
Linhart knew he was seriously ill for several months prior to his death   It was his wish that something be done for the comrades he was leaving behind.
    Rachel Linhart lived another seven years.   She died of heart trouble just before Christmas 1917 when the United  States was raising armies for another bloody conflict, World War I.
Editor's Note; Thanks to Dick Mann who helped with research on this article.
    In the year 2001 local veterans organization and city officials have been discussing the possibility of building a memorial to Fostoria Area veterans at Fountain Cemetery. This project would entail moving some existing monuments near the main entrance to the cemetery.
    One of those monuments is topped by a Civil War soldier and dedicated to the Grand Army of the Republic, an organization of Union veterans, on behalf of a man named John M. Linhart.
(See article aboveIt seems appropriate that the discussion of a modern memorial to honor all of our area veterans is the occasion to tell the story behind Fostoria's first veterans monument.
 Article mentions a Storm Buggy Company in Fostoria.
Paul Krupp Article.
March 29, 1984
Dear Paul:
     I still take the Fostoria paper and as I have told you before, I always enjoy reading your articles and I know many of the "Oldtimers."    
    A few weeks ago you mentioned The Light Car Company, which took me back some years as that is where I worked after graduating from high school in 1915. It was my first position.
    I was the time-keeper and had charge of the switchboard for The Light Car Company and The Storm Buggy Co. After that I went to business college in Tiffin.
      Loretta Henry, a stenographer, who lived in Tiffin and came to Fostoria on the streetcar every day to work.
Shirley Turner


This 1911 Ford Model T with a Limousine Body was found in a Antique Car magazine. It states the body was build by Storm Buggy Company in Fostoria. I have lived some 75 years in Fostoria and never heard mention of the Storm Company. At the local Library a book with Buggy Companies in America does not mention the Company as ever existing. One person after seeing the picture and write up that accompanied it, thought that the company was located East of the Review-Times on the South side of Center Street, across the alley, and directly across from Fostoria Appliance. If anyone has more information please contact the writer to confirm location.

Infro. from Steve Rippon, Danville, Calif.


1911 Ford Model T Limousine

     This one-of-kind extremely rare 4 cylinder automobile is museum quality and features custom coach work.  It was hand build by  Storm  Buggy  Company  located in Fostoria, Ohio.   The interior is original and complete with hanging chandelier, pleated silk headliner, silk curtains with plush deep seats made of whipcord, curled hair and pillow springs.  Excellent example of an extremely rare car.

(Sold in Scottsdale AZ for $77,500,in 1999)

ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:36:45 +0000
1909 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22928-1909 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22928-1909
More on Fostoria 1909
From R/t May 29, 2003
Article by Gene Kinn
    Cleveland and Fostoria capitalists have financed a new trolley line which will connect Fostoria with Fremont. The line itself is a small one, being but twenty one and one half miles in length, but will be of large importance to the Western Ohio Railway Co., and the Lake Shore Electric.   It will serve as a feeder to both these companies and will , in fact, make connection between the Western Ohio, in the western part of the state, and the Lake Shore Electric, in the north part of the state.
    The new line will make it possible for western Ohio people to transact business in Cleveland and return the same day. People living in Lima may come to Cleveland, spend five or six hours in the city and return home by nine to ten O'clock the same day.  It will connect such towns as Lima, Findlay and other western Ohio towns with the summer resorts near Sandusky.  It makes an almost air line from Lima, Findlay and Fostoria, to Sandusky.  It should be a fairly good earner in itself, but its results will be more apparent in the business it feeds to the other two lines.
    The company which will build the new line will be known as the Fostoria & Fremont Railway Company.  It will have a capital stock of $150,000 common, $150,000, 6 percent cumulative preferred stock and $300,000 5 percent bonds  the company has already sold the preferred stock at par and has practically made arrangements for selling the bonds for sufficient money to complete the road.
    The two terminals, Fostoria and Fremont, are energetic, growing towns which undoubtedly have a good future.  Fremont has a population of 12,000 and Fostoria of 10,000.  Lima has a population of 30,000 and Findlay of 20,000. ( In 1909).   In addition, there are three towns, (Bluffton, Arcadia, and Bettsville?) of about five or six hundred people.  
    F.D Carpenter, general manager of the Western Ohio, is secretary and treasurer,  Mr. Carpenter will start the work of construction at once and says he will have the road in operation by July 1, 1910

From R/T May 8, 2003
Rome and Risdon reviewed

On Dec. 7, 1909 the Fostoria Review carried a story entitled "Retrospect-- Fostoria and it's Predecessors, Rome and Risdon -- Written and Unwritten History"
The story was written by N. Portz, -- Nicholas Portz was born here in 1839. At the age of 12, he entered the employ of C. W. Foster and Son. Twelve years later, he became a partner in the firm and later assumed the management of the Brass and Iron Works Co., the forerunner of Atlas Crankshaft Corp.

In relating some of the incidents of the early settlement of Rome and Risdon and the surrounding country, it will be necessary to name some of the leading characters who were active participants in the opening up and developing the Ague and matarial-stricken Black Swamp and converting it into a beautiful little city and a charming, healthful and most productive country.

I will only give a passing glance at the famous military characters prominent at a early day, the men who trained the militia and fitted them for the Mexican and other wars and received honorable titles. There were General B. L. Caples, Colonel Charles W. Foster and Captains John Tennis and Jonas Hampshire.

It was John Crocker, Grandfather of the late R. Crocker, who entered the land and platted the town of Rome, in which and in its building up, He was able assisted by his son-in-law ,C.W. Foster.

At about the same time, a Mr. Gorsuch entered the land and platted the town of Risdon A mysterious feature in the plat of Risdon was the leaving of a strip ground around or nearby around the town plant of about one rod. This freak was never satisfactorily explained, but it was supposed to be for the purpose of preventing any addition to Risdon without the consent of the proprietor.

Risdon always had the great advantage of a beautiful location on the high bank of the Portage creek which furnished excellent drainage, the town always high and dry, a feature that was promptly recognized by strangers during our late gas boom The Ridge Road also went out from Risdon. In fact the location of country roads became at that time an important factor in the development of the two towns, each town having its own stores and active business men. Risdon excelled for many years in the number of its stores The location of new roads vacation of undesirable ones, and the extension of favorites kept the active participants busy looking and planning.

Risdon had the first Methodist church, a long building, rough slabs from the saw mill with holes bored and pegs driven in for legs, forming the seats. The writer, as a small boy sat on them. The grandest old Methodist however lived on the farm just west of Rome. Mr. James Anderson. It was not long before Rome had a fine Methodist church, a grad building on South Wood Street near South Street.

Politics also had its place in the contentions. Whether by deliberate plan, or by accident, the leaders in Risdon were Democrats whilst those in Rome were firmly bound to the Whig party, as parties were known in those days. Unfortunately for Rome, the Democrats had the reins of power nearly all the time, giving Risdon a great advantage for it gave the town the Post Office. The writer remembers going to that Post Office and West Summit Street, on the northwest side of Public Square, and of going to a neighbor who kept a quantity of little wafer-like seals for sealing letters.

With the Ridge Road, the Perrysburg Road and the lower Sandusky (Fremont) Road, which latter started out from the northeast corner of Risdon (now Jackson Street), where a grist mill and a saw mill were located, it was indeed a serious matter to the lone champion of Rome, how to secure his proper proportion of the country trade.

During these developments of Risdon, Mr. Foster was not to be caught napping, nor allow his interest in Rome to wane or lose force
R/t May 15th 2003

Tiffin, Findlay join forces -- -Mr. Foster steps in to save road.

The businessmen of Risdon were not the only rivals which Mr. Foster had to contend with.

The two county seats, at Tiffin and Findlay, working in harmony to accomplish the defeat of their competitor at Rome, were indeed a power worthy of the ambition of the best of men.

The combination of the two county towns conceived a move on the board that would have caused a severe blow at one stroke. It was the opening up of a state road, from Findlay to Tiffin by straight line. They reckoned without the King Bee.

A joint petition by Tiffin and Findlay businessmen was sent to the State Legislature at Columbus, praying for such a road, if secured as asked for, it would have left Rome about five miles out of the way.

Mr. Foster, learning of the move, made haste to see that Rome was not be forgotten. The petition was put in proper form and passed by the legislature.

But, when the instructions wee forwarded for the construction of the road, it was found to contain four words that were not intended and were not in the original petition...to the utter confusion and amazement of the petitioners. These four words were "by way of Rome,' resulting in the construction of the road from Tiffin to Rome and from Rome to Findlay, both roads having to be cut through dense forest.

The road to Lower Sandusky, (Fremont) was opened up on the line of the present Sandusky Street on which the plank road was built, leaving the Risdon road in the same direction, a half mile to the north. An effort was made to extend the Perrysburgh McCutchenville-Bucyrus road to a direct junction, which would have put it nearly one mile east of Rome, but Mr. Foster learned of the intentions and by the time the surveyors came to locate the line, a force of choppers had felled so many mammoth trees across the line intended to be followed, that it was deemed impractical and abandoned.

Again, the Risdon faction, ever on the alert, saw an important tributary to Rome that they planned to have vacated as useless and wasteful of land. That was the South Ridge Road. they contended that the North Road was much better and that travel had better come through Risdon to reach Rome.

The county commissioners were appealed to and promised attention, setting the date when they would go and view the so-called useless road. Mr. Foster learning of this, at once took action to thwart the scheme.

Having a good friend on what has long been known as the Schaufelberger farm, Mr. Foster had painted a hotel sign on nailed it to a post and set it up in front of the farm house, had the main front room vacated and had a hasty counter and fixtures put in place for a hotel and bar, with a supply of decanters, well filled tumblers etc., the landlord was in 'business.

It was in winter time and there had been a good fall of snow. Mr. Foster enlisted a few friends, who like himself had a horse and cutter which were put to good use on the appointed day, driving up and down past the "hotel" to the junction of the Ridge Road and around the sign post up to the hotel.

When the time had arrived that the visitors might be expected, Mr. Foster drove west on the Ridge Road and soon met the commissioners. Expressing surprise and learning the object of their visit, he volunteered to escort them over the so-called useless road. Soon arriving at the "hotel", the visitors expressed wonder and surprise to see such a facility on a road that was proposed to vacate. Of course, they were invited in to partaker of liquid refreshments and to see the fine accommodations.

After a social visit, they departed, saying that there would be not further attention paid to such a foolish request.

From R/t May 22, 2003
Article by Gene Kinn
Origin of the Rome post office
This is the third and final installment of  "A retrospect, Fostoria and its predecessors..Written and Unwritten History"  by Nicholas Portz. a Fostoria pioneer:
    After securing the permanent location and seeing that all roads let to Rome, there still remained that very annoying matter of the location of the post office.
    With a Democratic administration and no prospect of a change, the laws forbidding the second office, nearer than four miles, it was indeed a difficult problem.  But, having a will, the way was found. For the convenience of small tradesman, a one-story building was erected on Tiffin Street, west of the Foster store with two or three rooms, one for a tailor shop, another for a shoe shop etc.  The tailor was a Mr. Charles Kelly , and intelligent fellow and a active Democrat.  This fact gave the inspiration.  Mr. Foster made application for a post office to be located four miles southeast from Risdon, recommended Mr. Kelly to be the postmaster and gave the name for the post office as Stoner, honoring a farmer friend living on the Risdon-Lower Sandusky Road.
    In due time the office was erected and the postmaster named as requested.   Mr. Foster was duly notified of the fact with date of delivery of the first mail for the new facility.  In those day the mail was always carried on horseback,   C.W. Foster was a great horseman and always kept a good saddle horse (even up to near the end of his career, he maintained faithful old Bill, the saddle horse).
    on the day fixed by the department for the arrival of the first mail, horse and saddle were brought out and at the usual time for the passing of the mail carrier.  Mr. Foster rode out on the McCutchenville Road where the office was to be located and waited the arrival of the carrier.
    Soon the boy appeared in sight, stopping occasionally to look and make sure of his location, the two soon met.   The boy informed Mr. Foster that he had instructions to stop at a new post office called Stoner, and that he was unable to locate it.  Mr. Foster requested the carrier him his instruction to the stop, examining them carefully.  he informed the carrier that the clerk who wrote the instructions had evidently made an error and that instead of writing four miles, he should have written one-fourth of a mile from Risdon and offered to conduct him to the proper place.  Arriving at the tailor shop, everything was found in readiness for the handling of the mail.  The carrier was delighted to find the place so easily and to see a nice place to stop.
    A good supply of mail had been arranged for this first delivery, by writing to friends at a distance to forward all mail to the Stonere post office.   Later on the office was moved into the Foster store, where the writer assisted for several years in handling the mail, but a good Democrat was always at hand for the real postmaster.  The how and why of how the Stoner post office came into being was never known.in Risdon, but the office remained a permanent fixture in Rome until the union of the two offices into the greater Fostoria post office.
    A single instance will surface to show how and why people were drawn to Mr. Foster for advice, information and assistance, which were always ready and willingly bestowed..  When he was doing business in his log house, a combination store and residence, an early settler had built a log cabin, but his means were exhausted and he had not the wherewithal to keep his family from starvation.  He sought the advice of Mr. Foster with the result that he was told to come to the store and get whatever he might need and pay when his crops matured and when he had the means with which to make payment.
    That account was opened and was never closed during the long life of both merchant and farmer, but it was carried along to almost the end of the lives of the two sons of these men without a break or a single unpleasantness.

From R/t Jan. 16, 2003
(Article by Gene Kinn)
More on Peabody Buggy Company
        A representative of this paper called at the manufacturing plant of the Peabody Buggy Co. Friday afternoon and requested permission to see the men at their work, the equipment etc.   Our desire was to see the improvements and learn, if possible, the secret for the remarkable success of Messrs. Allen in building a business like the Peabody, from a small beginning to a gigantic institution.
    The buggy plant having a floor space of more than 70,000 square feet, and occupying more than three acres of ground, is a small city of over one hundred inhabitants, having its own private electric power and lighting plant, reservoir of 90,000 gallons of water with the automatic sprinkling pipe though the building.
    An automatic telephone system and automatic alarm, that can be heard a thousand feet in all directions, was installed recently and works perfectly.
    The fine spirit and the perfect organization in the plant is all that makes it possible for a complete buggy to be turned out every twenty minutes.  The output of the plant is now sold up to April 15 of next year, their trade extending from the Pacific to the Atlantic coast.
    Last year over one hundred and twenty-five buggies were sold in the immediate territory and this year, the local demand is such that $50,000 worth will be sold within a radius of twenty five miles.  As there are over fifty different styles to select from, the prospective customer must indeed be hard to please if he finds none suited to his fancy. these buggies range from the light road cart, top buggy, phaeton, Stanhope, etc., to the magnificent carriages having the same body, finish and case as automobiles possess.
    During the sixteen years this company has been in business, there has been a wonderful change in the mode of living in all departments of life, owing to the unprecedented prosperity of the country.  When they began the demand for buggies was that they be cheap.  With the increased wealth of the farmer, there has been a change in this regard, the demand being for the best rather than the cheapest.
    A few noticeable features on going through the plant;  The rubber tires are set by electricity; twelve hundred buggies are under process of construction at present;  After a buggy lands in the paint shop, it undergoes nineteen different processes; The Peabody even has a saw mill and does its own crating; The force will reach the 125 men mark within the next two weeks.

From R/t Jan. 9, 2003
(Article by Gene Kinn)
Area Man lived the life of a hermit in Iowa
    For thirty-seven years, Hiram Phillips was completely lost to his relatives and friends and probably would never have been located but for the untiring efforts of Attorney J.J. Lehmann of Fremont, who is a relative by marriage.
    Phillips was born in Ohio, but left home when a young man and started for the west to seek fame and fortune.  Later he enlisted for duty in the Civil War and was a good soldier. The was over, he again went west and when he reached the Missouri River he joined the Dan rice Circus, which in those days was the big show, and was touring up and down the river in a mammoth boat.  When the circus quit business, Phillips went t Decatur Nebraska, where he continued to reside until found by Mr. Lehmann and he returned to Ohio.
    For years and years he lived the life of a hermit on the banks of the Missouri.  He never corresponded with his relatives back in Ohio and they knew nothing of his whereabouts.
    The people where he lived gave him the name of Dan Rice, after the famous old showman, and few, if any knew his right name.  His mother died in 1893, and as it was desired to settle up the estate, an effort was made to locate the missing heir.   Attorney Lehmann was assigned the task and after much trouble and work he finally succeeded in finding the hermit.
    The family had heard that Phillips had enlisted in the army and Lehmann, in hopes of securing a clue, entered into communication with the pension department and this inquiry developed the fact that Hiram Phillips was alive and living near Decatur.
    It was in the winter time, just ten years ago this month (1899) that Mr. Lehmannn went after Phillips.  He crossed the ice on the Missouri River to the Iowa side and found the cabin occupied by Phillips.  The cabin contained but one room, a single bed, some broken down furniture, and old stove and four hounds, the only companions of the old man.
    The old timer was at first alarmed at the appearance of the Fremonter and several men who were with him, but learning they were on a mission of peace he invited them in.  Mr. Lehmann informed the hermit that back in Ohio was a small fortune waiting for him to claim it.  Phillips then agreed to return to his native state and did so as soon as he disposed of his western belongings.  Since that time he has resided in Risingsun OH.
    HIram Phillips, died at his home in Risingsun in 1909.  Mr. Phillips was sixty-seven years of age and a veteran of the Seventy-Second O.V.I. (Ohio Volunteer Infantry), being known to his comrades in the army as Red Rover.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:35:57 +0000
1908 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22927-1908 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22927-1908
More on Fostoria 1908
From R/t Dec. 27, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
St. Wendelin to build new school on N. Wood St
    A lengthy session of the board of trustees of St. Wendelin's church was held Friday night to decide on the plans and specifications for the new school house.
    The plans, as prepared by architect Mr. Mallott, of Sandusky, were finally accepted and will be at once filed with the state building inspector for approval.
    The estimates for the new building give a cost of between $28,000 and $32,000.  Work will not be started before the first of next April and it is thought the work can be completed in six months. On this account, the school will be dismissed earlier that usual in the spring and cannot be opened in the fall before the first of October.
    The new building will have about eight-five feet frontage on North Wood Street, facing College Avenue.  It will be two stories in height with seven rooms and a large auditorium with a stage, and so arranged with rolling doors that two rooms can be partitioned off if necessary.
    The school house will be as nearly fire proff as it is possible to make it, being a steel structure with wire lath, steel stairs with slate treads and asbestos lining between the floors.   On this account, no outside fire escapes will be needed.

 More on Fostoria 1908
From R/t Dec. 5 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
More FHS Football History
    The long talked of hoped for and fought for game between Findlay and Fostoria has been played (in 1908) and has passed into history.  The score was the reverse of the never-to-be-forgotten game of 1901, Fostoria 28 Findlay 0
    On the previous occasion, Fostoria hired a band.  This year it was the Findlay boosters who were so foolish and there are some who attribute their defeat to this fact, although of course, it had nothing to do with it.
    The crowd was immense, representing the high school football fans of northwestern Ohio and many others who would not think of going to a game under ordinary circumstances but who felt that a Findlay-Fostora game, especially with "Hurry-up-Yost" in the foreground, was an event which could not be missed.
    It is estimated that there were three thousand paid admissions and Fostoria furnished close to one-third of the number.
    It has been said in the past that Fostoria was beaten before they took a car to get to Findlay.  There was none of this feeling this year, although some Findlay people suggested that their own players must be suffering from this kind of feeling when they failed to show up until fifteen or twenty minutes after time to
Fostoria Daily changes Name
    The news of the death of George O. Grimes at Adrian, Mich Tuesday morning came like a shock to Fostoria people.  While it was known that his health had gradually declined, it was not known that the end was so near.
    Mr. Grimes was born near Attica, Sept. 11 1859. when a young man, he engaged in the drug trade with R.T. Hearson in his home town and in a few years moved to Bairdstown, engaging in the same business.  In the spring of 1887, he began the publication of a weekly paper, The Bairdstown Times.  In Dec 1890 he moved to North Baltimore where he founded the Weekly Times
    Having a chance to dispose of his North Baltimore paper, in 1892, he bought the interest of C.L.Zahm in the Fostoria Daily and Weekly Democrat and changed the name of the daily to The Times/
    His arrival in Fostoria was shortly before the panic of 1893 and , about this time, the decline of the natural gas caused the removal of several factories from this city.  Notwithstanding this general condition of depression and the dark outlook for Fostoria, Mr. Grimes never lost faith in his favorite city and continued by his personal work and influence to advance the city's interests.
    He leased the Times to Mr. Carle Nov. 1,1902 and in Feb. 1905, sold the paper to that gentleman.  he then bought the Adrian, Mich. Press and greatly increased the business and political influence of the only Democratic paper in Lenaweek County, Michigan.  He retained his Fostoria real estate and personal interests and had often expressed the desire to return to this city to live.

From R/t Oct. 24, 2002
(Article by Gene Kinn)
Hospital opens in Fostoria August, 1908
    Fostoria has a hospital at last, Aug.1908.  It is not so large as those most active last year to promote the hospital project wanted, but it is immeasurably better than none and will, in the opinion of many people, be fully adequate to the present needs.
    Dr. William Leonard was one of the most enthusiastic workers for the hospital project when the matter was so actively before the people last year, and was an advocate of the purchase of the Academy grounds.  Despairing of securing such a hospital, as was then felt to be absolutely necessary, he recently decided to transform his South Main Street residence and office property into a hospital an proceeded to do so.
    The office and operating rooms are on the first floor, in front, and the diet kitchen is in the rear.  The rest of the hospital is transformed into bedrooms with a capacity of six private rooms although, in the emergency, ten patients can be cared for.
    Experienced nurses will be secured as needed, but one will be in attendance from the start.  Ambulance service will be furnished in connection.
    Patients at the Fostoria hospital, at 314-316 South Main Street.(Now a parking lot north of  R & R Place) will have the advantage of light, airy, cheerful rooms not always found in the cities.  A porch, fifty feet in length, will be nice for the convalecents to sit out and enjoy the open air, Dr. Leonad has also installed a sterilizer and other equiptment to make the hospital modern, complete and convenient.
    The physicians of the city will have the privilege of takng their patients to the hospital as freely as they would had the original proposition been carried out.
From R/t Oct 24, 2002
Business College opens in Fostoria
(Article by Gene Kinn)
    Fostoria is at last to have a business college of great repute and high standards which will open to the public on Tuesday Sept. 1, (1908), under the direct management of H.G. Yocum of Massillon, who has commercial schools at Massillon, Wooster, Mansfield, Unrichsville, New Philadelphia and Findlay.
    The college will enter upon its career Tuesday morning with a enrollment of 25 pupils and favorable indications of a prosperous and rapid growth, making it an attraction for students from the entire surrounding district.  Night school will be started Tuesday Sept. 15, 1908 with three classes a week on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.  This will be more convenient for clerks and others who may have to work Monday and Saturday nights.

From R/t Sept. 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Union National Bank established here
    The Union National Bank of Fostoria will come into being Wednesday morning (July 15, 1908) with a paid in capital of $100,000, succeeding the Mechanics Banking Co., the assets and liabilities of which will be taken over by the new company.
    The Mechanics Banking Co. goes out of existence on the eighteenth anniversary of its organization.   It opened for business in its present location on July 14, 1890, under the name the Mechanics Savings Bank Co. with a capital of $25,000
    Almost exactly nine years later, the bank was re-organized and the capital was increased to $50,000.  The moving spirit in the re-organization, and in the conduct of the institution from that time to the present was Mr. E.W. Allen.
    The business grew by leaps and bounds from that time forward and it appeared to the officers and directors that additional capital was needed.
    While at the time of the re-organization the Mechanics Banking Company had deposits of $95,000 at the present time, including the Bradner branch, these approximate $700,000. The Bradner branch will be reorganized as an independent state bank with a capital of $25,000.
    The Union Nation will now be, not only the largest financial institution in Fostoria, but its list of 153 stockholders represent more money than any exclusive Fostoria institution.
    The directors of the new bank are.  William Manecke, W.M. Wagner, F.D. Kingseed, W.O. Allen, L.R. Parker, H. Scherer, A. Mennel, M.A. Thomas, W.C. Beckwith, L.J. Eshelman, Elias Fox, W.W. Alley and Ira Cadwallader.

From R/t Sept. 19, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Local Paper Drops Hyphenated Name
    On July 24, 1908, the hyphenated name of the Fostoria Newspaper will be dropped, and in the future, it will be known as the Fostoria Review (rather than Fostoria Daily Review-Dispatch). There are several reasons for this dropping of one of the old names.   Among these that appealed to the publishers most strongly was that the shorter name is better because of its brevity. 
    The Fostoria daily Review is the outgrowth of nearly a half century's publication in Fostoria.  The Fostoria Weekly Review was the pioneer newspaper in Fostoria.  In its half century of work it is fair to believe that it has been a force for the improvement and betterment of the town.
    Its publishers proposed that it shall remain first in the hearts of the community.  Its various publishers and editors have, we know , used cords of lead pencils, tons of paper, barrels of ink and oceans of brain matter in their efforts at uplifting and enlightening the community.  Perhaps they have not always been rewarded by that concrete proof of support that goes further than friendship, but those publishers in the past have been uniformly loyal to the town and to its people.
    We know that the old resident, when he died, no matter how much of a skinflint he was in life, was given a good sendoff in the old weekly Review; we know that every freckle-faced girl that was married was reported as "the charming, handsome daughter of so-and-so." we know that every cheap party was reported as a "social function," and the refreshments were, "delicious and delightful."  The publishers did their work and did it well.
     We hope that the public will appreciate our efforts to give Fostoria the best daily newspaper in its history.  A town is pretty well known by the character of  its newspapers, and for our part, we intend that it shall be favorably looked upon.
    Beginning in July 1908, the newspaper began running a column called "Do You remember?"  Some samples follow:
Do you remember?
Fostoria's first ball ground.
It was located north of Center and east of 
Poplar streets, in the country.  Poplar street,
if opened, would have run through third base 
The old calaboose (jail--prison) which stood
near third base of the old ball ground?
When the L.E.& W. passenger and freight
depots were on Main Street and when that
company had a side track running across
Main to Perry Street?
The big yellow willow tree which stood where
the door of Carr's store is now ?.
When Miss Virginia Miller's North Main street
flat building was a carriage factory?
When "Twisty Stout" was one of our
great baseball players?
From R/t Aug. 22, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
More on Fostoria Cemeteries
     A history of local cemeteries, printed in 1908, indicates that the village of Rome had two cemeteries. One was located where the house of Dr. R.W. Hale stands, and the other known as the Lunt cemetery where Charles Richardson lives, near the western limit of Tiffin Street  The Risdon cemetery was donated by John Gorsuch and was located on what is now known as Cemetery Hill (where Fostoria Community Hospital is now located).
    The present cemetery (Fountain) was opened in 1856, the Fostoria Cemetery Association having been formed for the purpose.  Five acres of ground were purchased from a Mr. Hill for $500 and a sufficient number of lots were sold, at auction, to pay the purchase price and to furnish the nucleus of a fund for its improvement  and maintenance.  Another authority says they were sold for $10 each.
    It appears from common reports that Charles W. Foster was treasure of the association for many years and it is probable that he held the office from the organization of the association until the cemetery was turned over to the Village of Fostoria in 1885. James Lewis Sr. was the first superintendent and severed until succeeded by his son, James A., about 1891.
    An early newspaper report indicated the first body interred in Fountain cemetery was that of Simon Bricker. That appeared to have been erroneous as John Bair, whose widow still lives in the  city, died Sept. 12, 1856 and was interred there, while Mr. Bricker died Sept.14th,1856
    The purchasers of the lots began improving the cemetery grading and planting trees immediately after the organization of the association and the work of the removal of the bodies buried in the older cemeteries began soon thereafter.
    Part and possibly all of the land, aside from the original five acres, was purchased from the late Hon. M. P. Skinner, who retained as part of the purchase price a lot for the use of his family.          
    Another addition of three and a half acres, to the east of the present boundaries , was purchased a few years ago of Mrs. Ann Nestlerode. (In 1970's perhaps)  the land east of the entrance gate has only been open for about 20 years and it is already quite thickly occupied.   
    St. Wendelin Parish has had three cemeteries. The first was located on the church lot, east of the location of the present church (corner Wood & North.) The late Charles W. Foster donated an acre of ground, the deed bearing the date of Aug. 8, 1847. The first burial of which there is a record was that of Michael Stier, Dec. 28, 1855. This cemetery was abandoned and the bodies were disinterred and removed to Buckley Street (the present site of the Buckley Street tennis courts). In 1908 this cemetery was still occupied by quite a large number of graves, but no burials currently occur there. In June 1897, Rev Father Gries, at an outlay of $1,500, purchased five acres of land opposite of Fountain Cemetery and laid out a Catholic cemetery. Bodies have since been removed from the old cemetery to this new location
"History of Fostoria Catholicism"
 (Note this article first appeared in a local newspaper on June 18, 1908 and reprinted in R/t's on Aug. 29, 2002 by Gene Kinn).
    About the year 1843, a few German Catholic families located in and near the village of Rome.   In the following year, Rev. Father Joseph NcNamee, of St. Mary's Tiffin, was commissioned to assume charge of these Catholics.  He said Mass in the home of James McDonel, the first Catholic settler in the village, on West Tiffin St, near Main.
    Father McNamee was succeeded in 1847 by the Sanguinist Fathers, who for 12 years attended the Roman Catholics from New Riegel, then known as Wolf's Creek.  Services were held in the home of Nicholas Portz Sr. until 1851
    During the pastorate of Rev. Gales in 1849, the first church was commenced on the land donated by Mr. Foster.  (The present church, pastoral residence, school building and sisters' home stand here today 1908). The first church at this location (Wood & North St.) was a very unpretentious frame structure, 30 by 40 feet.
    The church was not finished, owing to the poverty of the people, until 1851. St. Wendelin was chosen as the patron saint and the alter was of the simplest pattern, the pews being poplar planks. with wooden pegs for supports. 
    Notwithstanding it's primitive appearance and appointments, the members were proud of having a church of their own and worshipped therein for nearly 28 years, during which them the building was enlarged and improved by Rev. Dechant, at a cost of about $1,500.
    In 1859, the mission was attached to Findlay, and so remained until April 1869. Rev. Michael Putz was the first resident pastor and on his removal to Napoleon in 1870, the church was attached to Findlay, until 1875, when Rev. M. Arnoldi was assigned as pastor.  Since that time, the church has been served by Rev Joseph Gloden, 1888 to 1891; Charles Griss, 1891 until his death in 1899; Rev. John Kleekamp, Rev. J.H. Rieken and the present incumbent, Rev. Ambrose A.Weber.
    The present church (1908) was erected under the supervision of Rev. Arnoldi, the cornerstone being laid by Bishop Gilmour., July 9, 1879.  The edifice, then considered a very handsome one, was built at a cost of $10,000, exclusive of the pews, alter and windows.  During the summer of 1890, Rev.. Gloden had the building remodeled, adding 20 feet t the length,   He also added new alters and had the building tastefully frescoed, the improvements costing nearly $5,000.  His successor, Rev. Griss, in 1902 had the splendid pipe organ installed at a cost of $2,500.
    During the pastorate of Rev. J. H. Rieken, the church was again remodeled, at a cost of $15,000.  The first pastoral residence was erected during the pastorate of Rev. Putz.  This was replaced a few years ago, by the present handsome and commodious brick residence.  The first school building was erected in 1878, being replaced in 1886 by the present brick structure.

From R/t Aug. 8. 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
New superintendent hired for schools
    R.W. Solomon, B.A. superintendent of schools at Cuyahoga Falls, was last evening (June 4, 1908) elected superintendent of the Fostoria schools for one year at a salary of $1,600.  Professor Solomon was notified of his election and accepted , but before doing so, secured a release from the board under which he has been working for two years.
    Professor Solomon is a comparatively young man, is married and has one daughter, age four.
Former pianist, singer & actress found dead
    H.S. vail, manager of a circuit of vaudeville theaters including The Fostoria Family Theater, on Center Street, made a shocking discovery on Saturday night.
    Accompanied by Mrs. Phillips, a resident of the building, Mr. Vail called at the room of Miss Ruby Coleman, treasurer for the Findlay theater, and found her cold in death, with a cloth, which had been saturated with chloroform, over her face.
    Miss Coleman, who is quite well known here, she having been the first pianist and singer of illustrated song employed at the local vaudeville house, is said to have been the victim of the chloroform habit, one of the rarest of drug habits.  She reportedly used the drug in large quantities for all bodily ills.
    the unfortunate young woman was an accomplished musician and had been successful as an actress, it is said, before taking a position at the front of the theater
New State Automobile Law
    The new state automobile law which requires that a number be carried upon the front and rear of all machines, for which privilege $5 is paid the secretary of state for gas machines and $8 for electric's, goes into effect tomorrow (June 9, 1908)
    There have been less than 850 licenses issued so far, out of an estimated total of 30,000.  This is not because the owners have not sent in their applications, but because of the inability of this new department to take care of the applications as the come in.
    It was announced from Columbus that there will be no arrests for the violations of the law until the department has had time to issue licenses to all who have applied.  All fines collected, after deducting the cost of the auto department, will be used in building roads.
School Board feared Bond Issue would be voted down.
    The fears that the proposition to authorize the board of education to issue bonds in the sum of $70,000 for the erection of a Fourth Ward building and two wings to the High school building would be voted down, proved groundless, the proposition carrying by a majority of 187.  Statistics show that special elections bring out only about twenty-five percent of the full vote. Taking this as a basis, yesterday's election (June 11, 1908) attracted as much attention as could reasonably be expected, there being 651 votes cast 419 in favor of the proposition and 232 against.
    It is hard to see how a proposition of such importance could attract so little attention, but the result is gratifying as it makes it possible for the board to proceed with the improvements which are necessary to comply with the requirements of the state board and to furnish a building for the children living south and west of the railroads

From R/t July 25, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Theater on East Center Street Opens
    On Monday evening, Feb. 3, 1908 the Fostoria Family Vaudeville Theater opened on East Center Street, opposite the Sherwood Hotel.  Manager H. S. Vail charged ten cents for any seat in the house and offered shows at 7, 8, and 9 p.m.
    The initial five acts included: L. DeBarr, contortionist; Wayne Christie, blackface comedian" The Earle Sisters, wood shoe dancing;  An illustrated song, sung by Miss Coleman, and the moving picture, "Sand from the Rock."
Ice Harvest from Local Reservoir Begins
    A visit to the reservoir this morning revealed a busy scene. The ice harvest is in progress all this week and the sight is well worth a visit out there.  Fifty-five men are employed to care for the ice coming in a string of cakes.
    Yesterday they stored away nine hundred tons.  The ice house is divided into four compartments and the walls are packed with sawdust while straw covers all.  There are two rooms holding 1,000 tons each and two rooms holding 800 tons each.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:35:34 +0000
1906 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22926-1906 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22926-1906
More on Fostoria 1906
From R/t Jan. 12, 2002
Article by Gene Kinn
Baltimore & Ohio R/R Looking to Build New Depot
    Local Fostoria contractors have received invitations from the Baltimore and Ohio railroad to bid for work on erecting the new passenger station in this city. The station will be quite an improvement and is needed to take care of the increased business.  
    It will contain a general waiting room, 24 by 26 feet, women's waiting room and smoking room. each 12 by 25 feet.
    On the other side of the general waiting room will be the ticket office, next to it the baggage room. 18 by 22 feet, with an express room of equal dimensions on the extreme end.  Ample toilet facilities will be provided. 
    The building will be heated by a low pressure steam heating system and will be well lighted by electricity.

From R/t Dec. 20, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
Two die in train wreck
(at Godsend March 1906)
    Probably the worst wreck on this division of the Baltimore & Ohio line, since the historic one at Republic some fifteen or twenty years ago, occurred at Godsend, five miles west of Fostoria, yesterday at about.11:30 (March 11, 1906).  There were two freight trains and one passenger train in the wreck, and if the passengers had been ten seconds quicker, some trainmen say five, she would have gone through to Chicago unscathed.  As it was, she arrived at just the proper moment to receive all the injury possible.  As a result, two men were killed and the Sherwood Hotel is filled with injured passengers.   Sixteen out of thirty-one have hurts, although few are serious.
    The snow storm, the worst of the winter, was probably the prime cause of the wreck as it not only prevented the trainmen from seeing any distance ahead, it also made the track so slippery that their efforts to stop were in vain.
    The word was sent to Fostoria at once, the report being that there were fifty killed and injured, and all the physicians in the city wee asked for.  The switch engine was hastily hitched to a box car and six doctors were hastily taken to the scene.  By the time the relief train arrived, the killed and injured had been gotten out and placed in the diner which was hitched to the engine, brought to town and taken to the Sherwood,  Two ambulance and a number of cabs were awaiting them so they were gotten to bed and the physicians set to work to give such relief as they might.
    Finding no other way of reaching the scene and still under the impression that a large number of people had met their death, people hurried to the livery stables and it was but a short time until there was a steady stream of rigs making their way out the ridge road,  The snow was
beating in the faces of the drivers, almost blinding them and the roads were in such condition that few would have cared to make the trip for anything less urgent.  From 500 to 1,000 people must have visited the scene.
    It was a horrifying sight to see the cars piled up and burning, suggesting how near one may be to death when traveling over the country.  It was a relief to all bad as it was, to learn that it was so much better than first reported and that none lost their lives by fire.

    The express safe, which Lee Buckingham, of this city, route agent of the United States Express Company, rescued from the burning express car, in the very teeth of the flames, was being shipped from the United States Treasury in Washington, D. C., to the subtreasury in Chicago, and was said to be crammed full of paper money, aggregating several hundred thousands of dollars.  It was noted that Mr. Buckingham was carefully guarding the big iron box as it stood on the empty flat car, covered with a tarpaulin, but none of the thousands of people who observed it, had any idea of the value of the contents.
Local Cigar Factory Sold
    W.P. Wickert has sold his cigar factory to Albert Wagner and H. B. Cooper, who will move it from the present location on South Street, to the Wickert block on East North Street.  Mr. Wickert has been engaged in the manufacture of cigars for the past 20 years, and finding that it was proving injurious to his health, he determined to sell out.   He contemplates moving to Toledo, but not for some months.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:35:12 +0000
1905 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22925-1905 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22925-1905
More on Fostoria 1905
From R/t Oct. 18, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
Young Driver Tours City with his Friends.
    Lyman, the 10-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. M.M. Carr, made his debut as a chauffeur yesterday afternoon and is probably deserving of the title of the youngest driver in the city, if not the state.  He decided that he would like a ride and, going to the garage of the Atlas Safe Co., he told the attendant in charge that he wanted a car and was given one of the big Cadillacs.  The young attendant probably thought that Lyman had been sent, and would soon be joined, by his father.
    Finding that he could manipulate the car without difficulty, the young driver saw a little girlfriend and invited her to join him, which she did without hesitance.  Later a number of other little folks were taken in.
    The ride passed without incident until the outfit passed the home of Dr. R. W. Hale, where it was seen by the aunts of the driver, Mesdames Hale and Richards, who frantically called the parents.  The boys father started to the garage to see if he could get any trace of the party, but by then he found that the trip was over and he was able to breathe much easier,
    The car was run about the paved streets a number of times until the novelty wore off and it was then returned to the garage, as good as when it started and with no harm to the little folks.

From R/t October 4, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
Treasury Department Orders Local Produced Product
    The Fostoria Incandescent Lamp company has succeeded in landing an order in which they may well take pride.  It is from the U.S. Treasury Department and is a year's supply for the post offices, custom houses etc.  Their annual consumption is over 100,000 lamps.
    This is one of the hardest orders to secure, as their specifications and tests are the very highest.  The landing of this order, with the other business at hand, makes it necessary for the plant to run night and day and makes room for quite a number of additional girls, if they can be secured.
Area's Early Rail Transportation
    The first passenger car to run north, over the T.F. & F. extension, went to Risingsun yesterday afternoon (Aug. 12, 1905) and carried about a dozen businessmen.  The trip was an impromptu one, no invitations being issued in advance.  The passengers were picked up as the car ran through town.
    Notwithstanding the lack of ballast, the trip was made without incident, the seven miles being covered in less than 30 minutes.
    On Monday, Aug. 14, 1905 the following news items appeared in the local paper,  The T. F. & F. sold 340 tickets between Fostoria and Risingsun yesterday, a somewhat remarkable business for the opening, especially as it was not announced that passengers would be carried until the afternoon papers came out on Saturday.
    The service will be continued regularly, leaving Fostoria on the odd hours from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.   It will be extended to Bradner as soon as the wire is up, which will be within the next few days.
    The first annual excursion of the C.C. Anderson Co. run to Cedar Point this morning proved too great a drawing card for the accommodations furnished.  The first section went through at nine o'clock and was so well filled with Findlay people that the majority of the Fostorians were left standing upon the platform.
    The regular train at 9:25 a.m. was provided with extra coaches to carry those who were waiting, but telephone advises stated that there were one hundred waiting at Kansas and three hundred or more at Fremont.  To accommodate as many of these as possible, box cars were equipped with the seats from the waiting rooms and were attached to the train.
    It is unfortunate that a misunderstanding accrued as to the number of cars needed as Mr. Anderson and his associates wished to furnish their employees of the two cities with every accommodation and make it a day to be remembered for a lifetime.
 Subject: More on Fostoria 1905
From R/t Sept. 20, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
Potential Mugging Failed
    A young lady who shall be nameless turned off Wood street to college avenue, between 8 and 9 o'clock last night (July 11, 1905), on her way home from up street.  although there is a light on the corner, it is quite dark owing to there being a number of large shade trees.
    Just after turning the corner, a young man stepped out from one of the trees and saying, "Good evening dear," took hold of the left arm of the lady, who responded, "Good evening," and at the same time brought her right fist in contact with the nose and mouth of the masher,  with all the steam she could command of it.
    The man evidently lost all ambition, for the time being, to do any mashing as he disappeared as if the earth had opened up and swallowed him.
    The heroine of the affair does not have the appearance of an athlete, but the upper cut was delivered with the skill of an expert and was as effective as she could have wished.  If such experiences came with greater frequency, ladies would soon be able to be on the street at night without fear of being insulted.
Edward J. Cunninghan   
    At 10:15 a.m. (Aug.4, 1905), the death angel called the spirit of Edward J. Cunningham, and he quietly passed away at his home on North Main Street.
    Death was the result of consumption, superinduced by an attack of pneumonia, which he suffered last winter, and which caused his life to tremble in the balance for a considerable time
    Mr. Cunningham has long been recognized as one of Fostoria's most prominent and progressive citizens.  He was a miller by trade, having entered upon an apprenticeship when he was but 15 years of age.  This lasted until he had attained his majority.
    In 1853 he moved to Tiffin where he worked for a brother J. W. Cunningham, as a miller for two years.  In association with his brother, he built the Shoemaker mill and later they leased the Keller mills and through the destruction of this mill, by fire, he lost the greater part of his savings.   The brothers later built the Clinton mill at Tiffin.  After three years Edward sold out to his brother and removed to Fostora.
    Mr. Cunningham was associated with the late Hon. Charles Foster for many years, and in partnership with him, built the mill now known as the Buckeye Mill which, after four years was sold to William Grapes.
    In 1871, he became identified with the Fostoria Stave and Barrel works and three years later he and Mr. Foster purchased the Fostoria Spoke works.  That institution was located at Countyline and Center streets, but was destroyed by fire in 1889.  The factory was immediately rebuilt, but in another location on Findlay Street.  In 1892, the partnership was changed to a stock company under the name of the "The Cunningham Manufacturing Company."  This firm continued in existence until August of last year (1904), when the stock was bought by Earl Cunningham who has since conducted the business.   On the organization of the Commercial Bank & Savings, Mr. Cunningham was selected as president.
    Mr. Cunningham has been a Republican since the organization of that party, but has never been a seeker of public office.
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:34:48 +0000
1904 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22924-1904 http://www.fostoria.org/index.php/historical-photos/wesley-photo-gallery/23-history/fostoria-s-past-century/22924-1904
More on Fostoria 1904
From R/t July 19, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
Local Buggy company elects officers
    The Peabody Buggy Company stockholders met in regular annual session yesterday (Sept. 8, 1904), in the office adjoining their commodious factory in the north part of town (now the Honeywell sparkplug plant).
    The following officers were elected for the ensuing year;  President, E. W. Allen--Vice President and Treasured, W. O. Allen--Secretary, J. L. Allen--Directors, E. W. Allen, W. O. Allen, J. L. Allen, E. Brown, C.C. Hess, and C.G. Cook.
    The report of the treasurer showed the company to be in a very prosperous condition, and a substantial cash dividend was declared.
    Thirty-five hundred buggies, most of them of a high class were manufactured and sold last year and the probabilities are that the number will be increased to four thousand for this year.
    About 1,000 skilled men are given employment at the plant, when in full operation, and it is one of the most successful factories in Fostoria.
Big Four Passenger Trains to stop in Fostoria.
    It is now settled that all trains on the new Big Four line from Detroit to Cincinnati will stop at Fostoria for passengers.
    the matter was arranged by Col. W.C. Brown, who went to Columbus Monday and had a long conference with Mr. W. H. Fisher, general passenger agent of the Hocking Valley road, over which the line of the Big Four goes to Toledo, from Carey.
    As a result of this conference, Col. Brown went to Toledo on Wednesday and had a further conference with Mr. L.W. Landman, the new Passenger Agent of the Big Four Line there, giving him many very cogent reasons why Fostoria should be made a stopping point on the new line.
    The outcome was that Mr. Landman decided to put Fostoria on the time card, and stated that the city may now claim the Bog Four road, and its twenty five hundred miles of track are added to her already long list of first class roads.
    This will give Fostoria ten passenger trains to and from Toledo daily.
    It is a matter of general congratulations that Fostoria secures the Big Four road, which means much to the traveling public and helps make it one of the greatest railroad centers in the country.
Underwear Manufactured here.
    The announcement was made yesterday (Sept. 15, 1904) that the C. C. Anderson Mfg. Co. will begin the manufacture of underwear next Monday morning with twenty five machines.
    For the past two weeks, the  old Campbell planing mill, located on the corner of North and Wood streets (now the parking lot for the YMCA) has been in the hands of the carpenters, brick masons and painters so that it now bears but little resemblance to its former appearance.
    The whole interior has been remodeled.  The upper rooms were choked with waste material and the whole factory filled debris. this has all been removed and the interior given a couple of coats of white kalsomine, making it look fresh and inviting.  New flooring has been laid in all the rooms, stairways constructed, new windows added, the outside stair on the North Street removed and the whole exterior painted.
    There will be four departments in the work including the cutting, sewing, pressing and packing rooms.  The first floor will be used for the accommodation of these Departments while on the second floor will be the machine room. Power will be secured from the T. F. & F. (Tiffin Findlay & Fostoria)
    The factory will be lighted by the City Heat and Light Co.  Gas, water and a sewer have been placed in the business by the city.
    The first work will be on Ladies and Misses underwear, the men's wear to be made later.  Twenty-five hands will be employed at the start to which a number of others will be added as the work progresses.
From R/t July 5, 2001
Article by Gene Kinn
 U.S.A.'s Largest Manufacturer of Fire Crackers
    It is doubtful whether the average Fostorian is aware of the fact that this city has the largest firecracker factory in the United States, but such is the fact and it is soon to be even larger.
    The company occupies five acres of ground and when the proposed buildings have been erected, the ground will be as thickly covered as they care to have it.
    It will be remembered that one of the large warehouses of the company was recently destroyed by fire.  This is to be rebuilt, another of equal size is to be erected and three additional brick building are to be constructed, two of which are to be devoted to the manufacture of railway goods, fuses and torpedoes, which have become an important branch of the business of the company.
    Three new powder houses are to be erected.  These are to be of brick and are to be chimney shaped. 
    In case of fire, in the powder used in the manufacture of these goods,  it always goes up, usually with little more than a single flash.  by the arrangement proposed, the flame and smoke will be carried upward and out at once, making the spread of fire much less probable than under existing conditions.
    The company has been manufacturing crackers for the past seven years.   They use 200 tons of specially prepared paper and 2,400 kegs of potash annually in the manufacture of their goods.  They have a large storage capacity, this being necessary from the fact that there are but two seasons for fire crackers, Christmas, when they are used in the South and the fourth of July, when they are used everywhere.


From R/t April 19, 2001

Article by Gene Kinn
Charles Foster (Former Governor of Ohio)
    A telephone message was received at the home of the Hon. Charles Foster at 2:15 this morning (Jan 9, 1904) to the effect that Mr. Foster had been stricken with paralysis at 11:30 at the home of Gen. Warren J Keifer, at Springfield, and that his condition was serious.
    Miss Foster at once began making preparations to leave for Springfield and left on the six o'clock train for Tiffin to catch the Big Four train leaving there at 7:08 and due in Springfield at 10:20
The following special from Springfield appeared in a number of the morning papers
    Charles Foster, former Secretary of the Treasury and former Governor of Ohio, was stricken with paralysis at the home of General Keifer and is an unconscious condition.  His recovery is doubtful.
    Mr. Foster came here last evening from his home in Fostoria for the purpose of visiting General Keifer over Sunday.  They intended to go to Columbus together Monday, to be present at the inauguration of Governor-elect Herrick. After eating a hearty supper, and appearing in perfect health,  Mr. Foster went to the General's library where they began talking over business maters.   In the room with the two distinguished men were Judge A.N. Summers and Captain Horace C Keifer.  At 11:30 Mr. Foster was suddenly seized with paralysis and fell forward from his chair.  Dr. Allen Vance was summoned and everything possible is being done for the stricken man.  Dr. Toby, superintendent of the Asylum at Toledo who is visiting in Dayton, was notified immediately and will arrive here this evening.
    A telephone message was received about eight o'clock this morning stating that Mr. Foster had had a hemorrhage a short time before and that his condition is very critical.
    Dr. P. L. Myers, of Toledo the son-in-law of Mr. Foster,  joined Miss Foster en route to Springfield,  He telephoned to the home of O.T. Brown at noon and asked that Mrs. Foster be told that her husband had died.  Mr. and Miss Brown went down and performed toe sad duty.  The news did not come as a surprise as Mrs. Foster had practically no hope for his recovery after receiving the first statement. the body will be brought here (Fostoria) tonight, leaving Springfield at 4:30 and arriving on the 10:00 o'clock car.
    The sad news spread over the city rapidly this morning and caused a distinct shock as many had seen him yesterday apparently in the best of health and spirits.  The nature of the attack was another cause for worry, as it recalled the fact that his father suffered a similar attack in 1883, while sitting in the office of attorney J. V. Jones, in the old Hale block, which resulted fatally, after an illness of a couple of days, during which time he did not recover consciousness.
    Mr. Foster was born in a log cabin, on a farm in Seneca Township, near Tiffin, on April 13th, 1828, and came here with his parents when but four years of age.  The senior Mr. Foster built a double Log house at what is now Tiffin and Main Streets, occupying one part as a residence and establishing a store in the other.  The store was destined to become one of the most important of the sort in this section of the state and this store, together with real estate investments, formed the nucleus of the family fortune.

    Like many other of this generation, Mr. Foster became a man of extensive knowledge with very limited opportunities for schooling.  He received his preliminary education in the log school house presided over by the late Hon. Warren Noble of Tiffin, and at the age of 12 entered an academy at Norwalk.  His stay there was limited to about nine months, illness in the family necessitating his return home to assist with work in the store.  He assumed the duties of manager at the age of 15 and became a partner three years later.

From R/t Jan. 9, 1904
    At the outbreak of the Civil War, Foster consented to assume the office of Colonel in the 101st O.V.I. (Ohio Volunteer Infantry), but owing to imperative exigencies, his parents prevailed upon him to decline the commission.
    In 1867, Foster & Co.'s bank was started, a hardware store was opened and the grain and produce business, so long conducted where Franke Bros.' mill now is, was established.
    The store, originally started by Mr. Foster Sr., was continued without interruption until 1888, a period of 56 years.
    Mr. Foster was Fostoria's first treasurer and held other local offices, but was first a candidate for an important office in 1870 when he was induced to make the race for congress and defeated Edward F. Dickinson who had previously been elected by over 1,600 votes.
    Mr. Foster was a member of the committee on claims during his first term and was accorded more recognition than is frequently given new members.
    A letter written by Horace Greeley to the Hon. James G.Blaine, the speaker of the house at the time, stated that  "A man who could carry his district as had Mr. Foster, must possess power and ability entitling him to places on committees not usually accorded to new men."
    This has been a valued memento of that period of history since it was sent by Mr. Blaine a number of years later.
    The Fostorian was twice reelected to congress and performed important services in each of his terms.    He was the only Ohio Republican to vote for the electoral-count bill, a democratic measure, and he always felt that the most valuable service rendered by him, as a congressman, was the successful efforts to secure the peaceful and orderly inauguration of President Hayes, whose confidential friend he was.
    In 1877, the Democrats redistricted the state, giving but one Republican county to the district.
    In the face of certain defeat, Foster made the race and reduced the majority, according to the previous election, of 5,000 to 1,800.
    He was elected Governor of Ohio in 1879, defeating General Thomas Ewing, of Fairfield County, by 17,000 votes and was re-elected, over Hon. John Bookwalter, of Clark County by a majority of 25,000.
    During his first gubernatorial race, the Democrats first dubbed him "Calico Charlie". the idea being to ridicule the pretensions of a simple merchant, but the sobriquet proved a veritable boomerang. Calico was used for badges towards the end of the campaign and this material was used instead of paper in printing many Republican newspapers.   His administration of the affairs of state have been spoken of as being a model.
    Mr. Foster was appointed Secretary of the Treasury by President Harrison and in this important office he proved anew his executive ability and fidelity to trust imposed.
    One of the prominent acts of his administration was the adjustment of the four and one half percent government loan.  Of the more than $50,000,000 in bonds of this character outstanding, over $35,000,000 were refunded, on July 1, 1991. at two percent and the remainder called in and paid.
    This was the first loan ever negotiated by the government at so low a rate of interest.
    Mr. foster and Miss Ann M. Olmstead, daughter of the late Judge Jesse Olmstead, of Fremont, were married Nov. 7, 1853.
    Mrs. Foster and two daughters, Mrs. P. L. Myers of Toledo, and Miss Foster survive him.
    The deceased was a member of local lodge of Odd Fellows and the Masons


From R/t May 17, 2001
Gene Kinn Article
 Fostoria an Enterprising City
(Year 1904)
    Fostoria is a city that may boast of many enterprises that would do credit to cities many times it's size. Fostoria has a glove factory, operated by F.H. Winikert, of East Fremont Street.  He launched into the manufacturing world by starting a mattress factory and met with good success. Then he conceived the idea of the glove factory.
    A Fostorian is at present competing against the celebrated violins of Cremona.  He is H.W. Davis of West Fremont Street who spends all of his spare time in shaping and manufacturing violins.  Musicians who have tested them state that it is possible to get tones from them that is not found in the average store violin.
    T.J. Maloney, residing on East Jackson Street, manufactures brooms and has a steady market in his product.
    J.H. Morton, of this city, is a manufacturer of gold wire jewelry and issues a regular catalogue, a fine specimen of the art of printing.  His specialty is the making of Christian Endeavor pins.
    R.L. Short and N.G. Copley are at present manufacturing a water level regulator which is said to be one of the best articles of it's kind on the market.  It has been placed on many local boilers.
    The manufacture of artificial stone has become a recognized Fostoria Industry. J.H. Jones, of North Main Street is operating a plant on Summit Street. -- J.S. Parish, in company with others, is also manufacturing similar articles.
    The Gem Garter Company is operated by W.J. Wagner, the North Main Street clothier.  If you buy such an article at his store, you may rest assured that it is "home made"
ppalmer@noguska.com (Super User) Fostoria's Past Century Mon, 25 Jun 2012 13:33:58 +0000